Update

Bleeding – diverticulitis rupture

Emergency Room– I will most likely always regret this decision
Hospitalization

Further decline with mental and physical abilities –  delusions and hallucinations, we now have medication to keep those at bay.

Hearing Hospice say she is in the advanced stage.  She wasn’t she wasn’t in this state prior to hospitalization. 

Skilled Nursing Facility – outnumbered by brothers and sisters, actually 1 to 6!   I have the mindset that it’s just DNA.  I want to keep Chrissy at home and have Hospice.

Friends are helping me wrap my mind around a plan B.  I will feed her breakfast and dinner, and visit during the day, evening, or even middle of the night.  I am to let God work out  this family conflict.  They are His children too. 

When I left tearful, there were little women in wheelchairs traveling in a row.  The first little woman reached out her hand so I grabbed it and said hello.  Same with the next three, they followed suit!   The last one kept her head down and was holding tight to a little doll.

Carol H., this reminded me of the characters in your story! 

 Kerry, I can would love for Chrissy to be as sociable as Lilybird. 

Donna, I sure hope there will not be a Mr. R! 

Margaret, I might have caught a glimpse of how other residents might see visitors when they walk in.

 Dementiaville, I guess I’m about to travel toward that city!

 

9 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, Judy. Thinking of you, and your lovely mother, and everything you have done for her.

    Reply

  2. I am so sorry to hear about your mom. You must be exhausted. I hope that you are able to be at peace with decisions that are made. Keeping you and Chrissy in our prayers!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Melinda on July 7, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Please give your mom a big hug for me. I recently found your blog after being told my daddy has Alzheimer’s. We just went through Alzheimer’s with my mother, she left us in 2009. It’s not easy, is it? Hugs to you and your family.

    Reply

    • Thank you Melinda. I truly cannot imagine both parents. Cyber friends, and others, have been generous with well wishes and hugs. I would like to talk more with you. Do you have a blog?

      Reply

      • Posted by Melinda on July 8, 2011 at 8:13 am

        No I don’t have a blog, always thought about starting one but never have. You can email me at gizgad at gmail dot com if you’d like to. I’m still somewhat in denial about my daddy having Alzhiemer’s. I guess I just don’t want to go through it again. Sigh…

  4. i’m so so sorry to hear about this 😦 i wish you both well and hope the best for your family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

